I was super psyched to finally have a decent set of Gaming headphones. So after several blissful hours of Overwatch, CS:GO and even some Everquest, I laid my Corsair Void USB gaming headset on my table noticed: “Holy moly this guy takes up a lot of space!”

After a couple months of the headset taking up good corner of my IKEA table, I finally put my make hat on once again and decided I would solve this problem with Engineering!

I sketched up a model in Autodesk Fusion 360. I started by measuring the arc of the headphones by laying it on a piece of paper and tracing the inner arc.

initial sketch
Sketch of the arc…also a teddy bear showering…

This gave me the measurements I needed to start out with. The end result was a simple geometric shape. The idea was to have it sit off the edge of my table and let my head phones dangle off the edge.

Corsair Headphone holder 3D model
Resulting 3D model.

The resulting 3D model comes after a few iterations of adjusting the size to the Micro 3D printer. I oriented it “face down” as seen below…which turned out not to be the greatest idea…you’ll see later on…

3D print setup
Printer orientation

I hit “print” and about 6 hours later…voila!

Soooo as you can see the problem with printing with a large surface facing downward was that I had to pry the bed layer off that which caused quite a bit of surface damage. Luckily Gina had the great idea of adding a felt surface to make the top surface nice and smooth. This also protected the cloth cushion of the headset from being scratched by any protruding material.

Finished with felt

The bottom is stuck on using 3M Velcro strips. this way It can be removed and moved easily without damaging any surfaces.

Features include:

  1. Felt surface finishing for smooth touch and protection of headphone material!
  2. Double sided 3M Velcro strip for ease of installation!
  3. Holds your headphones!

If you’d like the CAD file or any more info let me know via the contact page!

Happy designing,

Bryan

Leave a comment